This document clarifies the rules for using an action to “attack with two weapons.” The information in this document supersedes all other rulings and is considered definitive.

Requirements

You must be armed with two weapons, one in each hand. Neither weapon can be cumbersome.

Use an Action

If you meet the requirements for attacking with two weapons, you can use an action to do so.

Choose Targets

When you use an action to attack with two weapons, you either attack one target or two different targets within your reach or range.

One Target

You attack with the weapon in your main hand, as if you had used an action to attack with a melee/ranged weapon (p. 50-1), but you make the attack roll with 2 banes. On a success, you hit the target with both weapons. You deal damage as normal with your main weapon, applying the benefits from any talents or spells you might have had, and you roll the damage die for the weapon you have in your off hand and apply it as extra damage.

Example: A warrior with a Strength 13 and Weapon Training (1 boon to all attack rolls using weapons) and Combat Prowess (attacks with weapons deal 1d6 extra damage) wields a sword (1d6 +2) and long knife (1d6). She uses an action to attack one target with both weapons she’s wielding. She makes an attack with the weapon she’s wielding in her main hand, which involves making a Strength attack roll with 1 bane (1 boon – 2 banes) against the target’s Defense. On a success, she hits with both weapons and deals 3d6 + 2 damage (1d6 + 2 [sword], 1d6 [Combat Prowess], 1d6 [long knife]).

Two Targets

You make two separate attacks, one with the weapon in your main hand and one with the weapon in your off hand. Again, you resolve each attack as if you had use an action to attack with a melee/ranged weapon (p. 50-1), but you make the attack roll with 3 banes. Resolve each attack as normal.

Example: A warrior with a Strength 13 and Weapon Training (1 boon to all attack rolls using weapons) and Combat Prowess (attacks with weapons deal 1d6 extra damage) wields a sword (1d6 +2) and long knife (1d6). She uses an action to attack two targets with each weapon she wields. For her first attack, she makes a Strength attack roll with 2 banes (1 boon – 3 banes) against the target’s Defense. On a success, she hits and deals 2d6 + 2 damage (1d6 + 2 [sword] plus 1d6 [Combat Prowess]). For her second attack, she makes a Strength (or Agility since the weapon is finesse) attack roll with 2 banes (1 boon – 3 banes) against the target’s Defense. On a success, she hits and deals 2d6 damage (1d6 [long knife] plus 1d6 [Combat Prowess]).

Shields

If you attack with a shield, the shield loses its defensive property until the end of the round.

Talents

Combat Expertise/Mastery The conditional for both talents is “when you use an action to attack with a weapon.” Attacking with two weapons counts as making an attack with a weapon, so Combat Expertise/Mastery would apply. Resolving this is straightforward:

Attack one target with two weapons: I can either deal 1d6 damage to that target or make another attack, even with two weapons, at any point before the end of my turn.

Attack two targets with two weapons: Using Combat Expertise, each attack would deal 1d6 extra damage or I could make another attack, even using two weapons, at any point before the end of my next turn.

Example: A warrior with a Strength 13, Weapon Training (1 boon to all attack rolls using weapons), Fight with Two Weapons, Combat Prowess (attacks with weapons deal 1d6 extra damage), Combat Expertise (1d6 extra damage or second attack) wields a sword (1d6 +2) and long knife (1d6). She uses an action to attack one target with both weapons she’s wielding. She makes an attack with the weapon she’s wielding in her main hand, which involves making a Strength attack roll (2 boon – 2 banes) against the target’s Defense. On a success, she hits with both weapons and either deals 4d6 + 2 damage (1d6 + 2 [sword], 1d6 [Combat Prowess], 1d6 [long knife], [Combat Expertise]) or deals 3d6 + 2 damage and makes another attack at any point before the end of the round.

Fight With Anything (Fighter) This talent has not been doing what it was intended to do. Here’s the revision. It is now reflected in the official errata document.

Fight With Anything You ignore the 1 bane imposed by not meeting a weapon’s requirement or from making an attack with an improvised weapon. As well, when you attack with a weapon or an improvised weapon, you increase the damage die to 1d6 if it is less than 1d6.

Spells

If you cast a spell indicates you make an attack with a weapon, you make the attack with one or both weapons you are wielding using the normal rules. For example, if you cast mighty attack while wielding two weapons, you could attack with just one weapon or both. If you attack two different targets, however, the spell’s effect would only apply to the first attack you make.